Rescue Stories

Inca's story...

Daneline were asked to help find Inca a new home...

My name is Inca and I am a gorgeous blue girl. I turned 7 in April and I am microchipped. I had my boosters and a full health check in May and I am also up to date with my worm and flea treatment.

Unfortunately my family are moving to Australia and are unable to take me with them, which they are heartbroken about. My Mum really wants to find a safe and happy home for me to spend the rest of my days. I am a very happy, loving and affection girl and love all people and children. I have also previously lived with a cat and rabbit. I am extremely well behaved in the house and love nothing more than to snuggle up on my duvet, while getting plenty of fusses from Mum. I am used to having Mum at home with me all day, however, I have no issues with being left. I travel well in the car and am used to being bathed every 6-8 weeks.


Due to my constant wagging, I had to have an operation to remove half of my tail but it's OK, I still wag it all the time, I just don't keep whacking things with it! I walk very nicely on the lead and sit at roads, however, Mum doesn't let me off the lead as I get a bit nervous of other dogs. I will need a confident handler who can reassure me and let me know everything is OK when we come across other dogs. Mum does take me out for a potter in the big wide world, but I am a bit of a lazybones when it comes to my walks and I only really like to go out for 20-25 minutes at a time and if the weather's nice. I do not like the wind, rain or cold.


To be honest my favourite place is my house, particularly the garden. I currently have a large garden and I love to sun myself on the decking then have a good game of tug. I also like to play with my ball and follow my little friend around (Louie - my Mum's 1 year old). My ideal home would be a place with a good sized garden or a bit of land so I can just potter around and do my own thing.


I love my food and I have been bought up on a raw diet, which I really enjoy. I am a very good girl who just wants to be around people, getting lots of cuddles. It will be very difficult for me when my family move away in August and it would be lovely to have a new friend/family to help me get through it. My Mum says I have bought my family so much love and joy since the day they bought me home at 7 1/2 weeks old and that my new owners will be very lucky to have me in their lives.

I promise to give my new family companionship, fun and lots and lots of love.


Inca (updated 24.10.14)

I would just like to update you all on Inca. We have found an amazing new home for her, thanks to the fantastic help and support we received from Lissi at Daneline. Having had an awful experience with another Dane charity, which had an extremely negative, mental affect on Inca; I cannot tell you how great it was to work with Daneline. They are a charity who obviously care so much about the Danes that they help and whom work tirelessly to ensure that every Dane goes to the perfect home. Inca went to her new home on Tuesday and is settling in marvellously! Thank you so much to Barbara, Emma and their family for offering Inca their home. It was so lovely to meet you all when Inca and I came for a visit and even though we miss Inca terribly and it is so strange not having her with us, I know that she will be so happy and possibly a little spoilt, lol, in her new home. She is the centre of attention and has all the love she could ever want. From the photo you can see it hasn't taken her long to get her feet under the table. Emma has also kindly offered to keep in contact with me so that I can have regular updates on Inca and what she has been up to. I appreciate that so much, Thank you!

Take care and thank you once again.
Holly x

PS. I love being in my new home!!! :) Inca xx


If you know of a Great Dane in need, please click here to see how to contact us.